Skip to main content

This post is more than 3 years old

NDSA Award for Harriet Rogers


- News, Successes

Harriet Rogers has been awarded The Fred Kirby Trophy as the NDSA Coaches’ Swimmer of the Year for 2020

Harriet is only the second winner of this new award and was nominated by Glen Fenby 

The award was first given in 2019 following the retirement of Fred Kirby from his managerial role within the NDSA Performance Programme. Fred was instrumental in setting up the Performance Programme and developing aquatics within the county. The NDSA Coaches’ Forum decided it would be fitting to name the award after him.

At the end of each swimming season the NDSA Coaches’ Forum discuss nominations received from coaches and agree the recipient according to the following criteria:

The swimmer:

  • Must be in a full training programme with an NDSA affiliated club in the season/year of selection
  • Must be the highest ranked swimmer at National level/International level (best performing)

Because of the COVID restrictions, it may be sometime before Harriet can be formally presented with the trophy, but we congratulate her on being very deserving of this recognition from the NDSA Coaches’ Forum.

Jane Teague